Sunday, October 11, 2009

The Willoughbys

The Willoughbys The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry


My rating: 3 of 5 stars

FYI, this book has nothing to do with Jane Austen. It's an absurd satire in the vein of Polly Horvath or Edward Gorey, an unusual change for Lois Lowry. Four children who aren't very fond of their parents (and the feeling is mutual) decide they ought to be orphans, like in all the "old-fashioned stories" of which this is a parody. The plot is rather predictable (because it is a parody of these classic tales), but entertaining nonetheless. If it had been any longer or drawn out, it would have been too long. But it's not. And the best part, in my opinion, is the glossary at the end, includes clever but true definitions of difficult words.

No comments:

Post a Comment